Research-Relevant Links

ASSOCIATIONS and RESEARCH GROUPS
 
DancePhilosophers Google Group
        This is a professional networking email listserv that I moderate for those who are interested in the philosophy of dance, broadly construed. Currently we have members in such fields as dance performance and choreography, philosophy of art and performance, dance studies, dance education, dance history, performance and theater studies, movement theory, kinaesthetics and law, among others. The purpose of the group is to share information pertaining to new publications, calls for proposals, research topics and any other areas of interest related to dance philosophy and of interest to the group.
        If you would like to join the group please go to http://groups.google.com/group/dancephilosophers and request membership. Please also add a note telling me what your interest is in dance philosophy and how you heard of this group.
 
The American Musicological Society Music and Dance Study Group: http://ams-mdsg.wix.com/ams-mdsg
The American Philosophical Association: www.apaonline.org/
The American Society for Aesthetics: http://aesthetics-online.org/
The Association for Theatre in Higher Education: http://www.athe.org/
British Philosophy of Sport Association: http://www.philosophyofsport.org.uk/
The British Society for Aesthetics:  http://www.british-aesthetics.org/ 
The Center for Constitutional Rights: http://ccrjustice.org/
The Central European Pragmatist Forum: http://www.cepf.sk/
CORD, Congress on Research in Dance: http://www.cordance.org/
Dance Critics Association: http://www.dancecritics.org/
Dance Research Forum Ireland: https://danceresearchforumireland.org
European Association for the Philosophy of Sport: http://philosophyofsport.eu/
The European Society for Aesthetics: http://www.eurosa.org/
The Finnish Society for Aesthetics: http://www.estetiikka.fi/introduction
The International Association for the Philosophy of Sport: http://iaps.net/
The Jamestown Project:  http://www.jamestownproject.org/
The Nordic Pragmatism Network: http://www.nordprag.org/
PSi, an international Performance and Philosophy Working Group: http://psi-ppwg.wikidot.com/
Performance Philosophy: A Research Network: http://performancephilosophy.ning.com/
The Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy: http://www.american-philosophy.org/
The Society of Dance History Scholars: http://sdhs.org/
The Watching Dance Project: http://www.watchingdance.org/ 

JOURNALS and BOOK SERIES
 
Aesthetics, Philosophy of Art, Theatre, Performance, and Culture Journals

Aesthetic Investigations [published on behalf of the Dutch Association of Aesthetics]http://www.aestheticinvestigations.eu
The British Journal of Aestheticshttp://bjaesthetics.oxfordjournals.org/
Ergohttp://quod.lib.umich.edu/e/ergo [a general philosophy journal but they accept Aesthetics articles] 
Estetika: The Central European Journal of Aestheticshttp://aesthetics.ff.cuni.cz/guidelines/
Evental Aesthetics: http://eventalaesthetics.net
Human Studies: A Journal for Philosophy and the Social Scienceshttp://www.springer.com/philosophy/journal/10746
Janus Head:  Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature, Continental Philosophy, Phenomenological Psychology, and the Arts:  http://www.janushead.org/
The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticismhttp://aesthetics-online.org/default.asp?page=jaac
The Journal of Aesthetic Educationhttp://www.press.uillinois.edu/journals/jae.html
The Journal for Communication and Culturehttp://jcc.icc.org.ro/
Journal of Movement Arts Literacy: http://digitalcommons.lmu.edu/jmal/
The Journal of Popular Culture: https://www.msu.edu/~tjpc/
The Journal of Somaesthetics: https://journals.aau.dk/index.php/JOS/index
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Arthttp://www.mitpressjournals.org/loi/pajj
Performance Philosophy Journal: http://www.performancephilosophy.org/journal
Philosophy Compass [section on Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art]http://philosophy-compass.com/sections/aesthetics-and-philosophy-of-art/
Public: A Journal of Imagining Americahttp://public.imaginingamerica.org/
Soundings: An Interdisciplinary Journalhttp://muse.jhu.edu/journals/soundings/

Selected Pragmatism and Phenomenology Journals

Contemporary Pragmatism: http://contemporary.pragmatism.org/
Education and Culture: The Journal of the John Dewey Society: http://www.thepress.purdue.edu/journals/education-and-culture
European Journal of Pragmatism and American Philosophy: http://lnx.journalofpragmatism.eu/
The Journal of Speculative Philosophy: http://www.psupress.org/journals/jnls_jsp.html
Nordic Studies in Pragmatism: http://www.nordprag.org/nsp/
Philosophy and Phenomenologial Research: http://www.blackwellpublishing.com/journal.asp?ref=0031-8205
The Pluralist: The Journal of the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophyhttp://www.press.uillinois.edu/journals/plur.html
Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Societyhttp://www.peircesociety.org/transactions.html

Law and Arts Journals

The Columbia Journal of Law and the Artshttp://www.lawandarts.org/

Philosophy of Sports, Movement and Ethics


NEWS, CRITICISM, MAGAZINES, BLOGS, and HUMOR
 
The Philosophers' Magazinehttps://www.philosophersmag.com: [I'm an Aesthetics Editor for this magazine]

Arts & Letters Daily: http://www.aldaily.com/
OpEdgy Arts & Performance by Mark Frankohttp://www.jampole.com/OpEdgy/
More Important than That: How Philosophy Can Illuminate Sport and Vice Versa: http://www.davidpapineau.co.uk/blog.html
Philosophy of Sport: News and views related to the philosophical dimensions of sport: http://philosophyandsports.blogspot.com/ 
Philosophy Talkhttp://philosophytalk.org/
The Poetry Foundation: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/
This Year in Martial Arts: Practice, Philosophy, and History of the Fighting Artshttp://thisyearinmartialarts.wordpress.com/
 
Comments