Research-Relevant Links

ASSOCIATIONS and RESEARCH GROUPS
 
DancePhilosophers Google Group
        This is a professional networking email listserv that I moderate for those who are interested in the philosophy of dance, broadly construed. Currently we have members in such fields as dance performance and choreography, philosophy of art and performance, dance studies, dance education, dance history, performance and theater studies, movement theory, kinaesthetics and law, among others. The purpose of the group is to share information pertaining to new publications, calls for proposals, research topics and any other areas of interest related to dance philosophy and of interest to the group.
        If you would like to join the group please go to http://groups.google.com/group/dancephilosophers and request membership. Please also add a note telling me what your interest is in dance philosophy and how you heard of this group.
 
PSi, an international Performance and Philosophy Working Group: http://psi-ppwg.wikidot.com/
 
Performance Philosophy: A Research Network: http://performancephilosophy.ning.com/

    [There is a Dance Philosophy Working Group that is part of this site]

CORD, Congress on Research in Dance: http://www.cordance.org/

Dance Research Forum Ireland: https://danceresearchforumireland.org

Dance Critics Association: http://www.dancecritics.org/

The Society of Dance History Scholars: http://sdhs.org/

The Watching Dance Project: http://www.watchingdance.org/
 
The American Musicological Society Music and Dance Study Group: http://ams-mdsg.wix.com/ams-mdsg

The American Society for Aesthetics: http://aesthetics-online.org/
 
The British Society for Aesthetics:  http://www.british-aesthetics.org/ 
 
The European Society for Aesthetics: http://www.eurosa.org/

The Finnish Society for Aesthetics: http://www.estetiikka.fi/introduction
 
The American Philosophical Association: www.apaonline.org/
 
The Jamestown Project:  http://www.jamestownproject.org/
 
The Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy: http://www.american-philosophy.org/

The Nordic Pragmatism Network: http://www.nordprag.org/

The Central European Pragmatist Forum: http://www.cepf.sk/

The International Association for the Philosophy of Sport: http://iaps.net/

British Philosophy of Sport Association: http://www.philosophyofsport.org.uk/

European Association for the Philosophy of Sport: http://philosophyofsport.eu/

The Center for Constitutional Rights: http://ccrjustice.org/

The Association for Theatre in Higher Education: http://www.athe.org/
 

JOURNALS and BOOK SERIES
 
Aesthetics, Philosophy of Art, Theatre, Performance, and Culture Journals

The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticismhttp://aesthetics-online.org/default.asp?page=jaac
 
The British Journal of Aesthetics: http://bjaesthetics.oxfordjournals.org/

 
The Journal of Aesthetic Educationhttp://www.press.uillinois.edu/journals/jae.html
 

Estetika: The Central European Journal of Aestheticshttp://aesthetics.ff.cuni.cz/guidelines/


Evental Aesthetics: http://eventalaesthetics.net

Philosophy Compass [section on Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art]http://philosophy-compass.com/sections/aesthetics-and-philosophy-of-art/

Aesthetic Investigations [published on behalf of the Dutch Association of Aesthetics]http://www.aestheticinvestigations.eu

The Journal of Somaesthetics: https://journals.aau.dk/index.php/JOS/index

Performance Philosophy Journal: http://www.performancephilosophy.org/journal

PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Arthttp://www.mitpressjournals.org/loi/pajj





Janus Head:  Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature, Continental Philosophy, Phenomenological Psychology, and the Arts:  http://www.janushead.org/

The Journal for Communication and Culturehttp://jcc.icc.org.ro/

The Journal of Popular Culture: https://www.msu.edu/~tjpc/



Public: A Journal of Imagining America: http://public.imaginingamerica.org/

Human Studies: A Journal for Philosophy and the Social Scienceshttp://www.springer.com/philosophy/journal/10746

Soundings: An Interdisciplinary Journalhttp://muse.jhu.edu/journals/soundings/

Journal of Movement Arts Literacy: http://digitalcommons.lmu.edu/jmal/

The American Society for Aesthetics Graduate E-journal (ASAGE): http://www.asage.org/index.php/ASAGE
    [an online journal that publishes high-caliber articles, books reviews and dissertation abstracts in aesthetics written, reviewed
        and edited by graduate students]



Dance-Specific Journals





Pragmatism and Pragmatism-Friendly Journals and Book Series

The Pluralist: The Journal of the Society for the Advancement of American Philosophyhttp://www.press.uillinois.edu/journals/plur.html

Education and Culture: The Journal of the John Dewey Society: http://www.thepress.purdue.edu/journals/education-and-culture
 
Transactions of the Charles S. Peirce Society: http://www.peircesociety.org/transactions.html
 
Contemporary Pragmatism: http://contemporary.pragmatism.org/


The Journal of Speculative Philosophy: http://www.psupress.org/journals/jnls_jsp.html

European Journal of Pragmatism and American Philosophy: http://lnx.journalofpragmatism.eu/

Nordic Studies in Pragmatism: http://www.nordprag.org/nsp/


Law and Arts Journals

The Columbia Journal of Law and the Artshttp://www.lawandarts.org/



Philosophy of Sports, Movement and Ethics




Other Journals

The Journal of Philosophy: http://www.journalofphilosophy.org/
 
 

Philosophical Papers: www.informaworld.com/rppa
 
Philosophy and Phenomenologial Research: http://www.blackwellpublishing.com/journal.asp?ref=0031-8205
 
 

Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy: http://depts.washington.edu/hypatia/index.html
 
Ergo: http://quod.lib.umich.edu/e/ergo [this accepts Aesthetics articles] 




NEWS, CRITICISM, MAGAZINES, BLOGS, and HUMOR
 
The Philosophers' Magazinehttps://www.philosophersmag.com

Arts & Letters Daily: http://www.aldaily.com/
 
 
Philosophy Talkhttp://philosophytalk.org/
 
OpEdgy Arts & Performance by Mark Frankohttp://www.jampole.com/OpEdgy/




Art Law Journalhttp://artlawjournal.com/



The New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/
 
The New York Review of Books: http://www.nybooks.com/
 
 
National Public Radio (NPR): www.npr.org/
 
 
The Poetry Foundation: http://www.poetryfoundation.org/

This Year in Martial Arts: Practice, Philosophy, and History of the Fighting Artshttp://thisyearinmartialarts.wordpress.com/
 
Philosophy of Sport: News and views related to the philosophical dimensions of sport: http://philosophyandsports.blogspot.com/ 

More Important than That: How Philosophy Can Illuminate Sport and Vice Versa: http://www.davidpapineau.co.uk/blog.html


CONFERENCE NOTIFICATIONS AND LISTINGS
 
PHILEVENTS (philosophy conference listings and more): http://philevents.org/
 
Conference Alerts (to philosophy conferences worldwide): http://www.conferencealerts.com/topic-listing?topic=Philosophy
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Comments